Photo Journal #7 ~ So that was 2015, the year of Connection….

 

 

If there was a word for 2015 it was Connection. It was much needed ~ at the beginning of the year I felt creatively depressed and disconnected from like minded creatives.

I had a dormant Instagram account, no blog and I’d started my teaching practice with some groups of incredibly challenging students leading me to think that teaching was going to be another frustrating job for me.

At New Year 2015 I was reading Danielle La Porte’s The Desire Map  and was starting to consider how I wanted to feel in the year ahead. I wanted to feel a connection but it felt painful to recognise that I wanted to feel what wasn’t in my life.

Connection meant I started this blog in March.

Connection meant I took online courses: ‘Blogging from the Heart’, ‘Elevate the Ordinary’ ‘Be Your Own Publisher’, ‘The Inside Story’ and ‘Write Your Freaking Heart Out’ ~ and joined Instagram challenges for August, September and December.

Connection meant going from 60 followers on Instagram to 360. Connection meant six months of joining in with prompts at Poets United.

Connection has meant looking out for like minded people. Connection has sometimes also meant overwhelm as I struggled to find balance.

But choosing Connection as my word for 2015 has meant that my life has changed so that it supports my creativity.  It has even meant outing myself as a writer, when I made a Facebook page for the blog and invited people from my ‘real life’ to read.

I made Connection happen because I dedicated time to it, and made writing and connecting a regular commitment in my life, through blogging and being part of Instagram communities. When I let any of this slip, I just got back on the horse. When it was too hard, I produced something good enough in the moment. I held myself accountable for exercising this creativity by remembering the Connection I wanted to feel when I chose this word at the beginning of this year.

So where am I now, at the end of the year? I’ve got a new teaching placement now that feels like a better fit for me. I’ve written over thirty poems in 2015 and made a commitment to pursue publication in 2016. Instagram continues to stir me, as do the creative Facebook groups I’ve joined, and daily connection feels natural and inspires me. I am happy to say that I feel creatively abundant.

Connection ~ I thank you.

 

9 thoughts on “Photo Journal #7 ~ So that was 2015, the year of Connection….

  1. Wow, Claire, this is profoundly inspiring. I’ve been thinking of what my word for 2016 could be (2015’s was ‘believe’). I’ve been thinking around flow/action/motion/ease/clarity/connection…. having read your post, I think connection is at the heart of everything I’ve been circling around. Thanks! I’ve just signed up for a photo meditations course and this is the first comment I’ve left on a blog in ages 🙂

    Like

    • Well hello, Sarah! So glad to hear you’ve found some clarity around your word for this year 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to say ‘hi!’ ~ hope you have a ball with the photo meditations X

      Like

  2. It sounds really great, your year 2015. But looks even better on photos. Those green places, furry friends and words, words, words… I wish you even better 2016.

    Like

  3. ending on such a positive note Claire – connection meant you linked up with a very creative you. Glad to have connected with your blog – look forward to more and your new word in 2016 p.s. beautiful images too – love the bauble reflection

    Like

Every heart sings a song, incomplete, until another heart whispers back...

