One to One #2: Liebster Blog Awards ~ Part One

Liebster

I love that blogging is about discovery and sharing ~ so I’m very happy to have been nominated for The Liebster Award, an award by bloggers for bloggers, by not one but two fabulous fellow writers ~ thank you so much Nichola Veitch and Caroline The Book Dr. What a thrill that other people are reading and enjoying the blog!

So, here’s what happens ~ as an award winner I answer questions asked by Nichola and Caroline then nominate 10 bloggers I *love, love, love* for an award. Those bloggers then answer my questions and nominate 10 of their favourite bloggers and so that baton of blog lovin’ keeps on moving through the interweb, spreading the love…

The Liebster rules:

  • Link back and recognise the blogger who nominated me (thank you Nichola and Caroline!).
  • Answer 10 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 10 inspirational bloggers for the award.
  • Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Notify your nominees

11997842_10153060231175846_1729687089_n

I’m going split my post into two parts. In the first I’ll answer Nichola’s questions and nominate my first five bloggers…

Nichola’s questions

  1. What’s your morning routine?

Ha! I wish I was so organised and settled to have a well established routine. I tend to have a month or so of one routine, before turning it on its head the following month. Maybe it’s because I’m a seasonal person and what’s right for October won’t seem so apt in January.

At the moment it’s rise at 6.15, straight into work out gear and then I tackle Jillian Michael’s Shred before showering, devouring an oatabix breakfast with raisins, walnuts and rooibos Earl Grey. This sets me up for a day either at teaching placement or working from home to complete writing or teaching assignments. It seems that in October, prayer, meditation and journalling fit more easily into my afternoons and evenings.

2. What are you reading?

I’m between novels and catching up with two contemplative reads: Ruth Padel’s The Poem and the Journey and Morton Kelsey’s The Other Side of Silence. The first is a chance to read an anthology of sixty masterful contemporary poets, soaking in the different voices and then reading Padel’s incisive commentary on each (although the commentary is a little dry for me at times). The second is a volume on the tradition and practice of Christian meditation, scattered with such beautiful gems as ‘Meditation is simple and natural, like a seed growing and becoming a tree.’

3. What’s your favourite pick me up song?

It’s loud and trashy and it’s here. If P comes home and hears me playing this on a loop, he knows it’s better not to enter the room until the loop is over and out of my system. “Go take everything, take everything I want you to…”

12048774_10153085997995846_1539930560_n4. What’s your top tip when you’re lacking inspiration?

If I’m lacking inspiration it’s because I’m too tired to think ~ so my top tip for getting creative is to take a nap and let the brain and spirit process and recharge. (As the questions unfold, you will see a sleep theme developing.)

5. What does self-care mean to you?

Taking an afternoon nap when I can. Going to bed at 8pm if I need to. Avoiding caffeine. Moving my body. Journalling. Meditating. Praying.

6. Where is your favourite place on the planet and why?

My bed! It’s purple, there are hugs on tap, cats on demand, a kindle, a pile of books, my journal, and the possibility of a long,deep sleep.

7. What are you loving right now?

My heart would have to be stone cold dead to not be loving the rainbow of autumn trees at the moment.

12165700_10153112833795846_1136282127_n

8. When overwhelm strikes, what is your advice?

I don’t think it will be too surprising to read that my three pronged attack to overcome overwhelm begins with the first step of sleep! The second point of attack is to make a comprehensive list of everything that’s causing the overwhelm. The third point is chose the most pressing issue and concentrate on tackling that point, and that one alone. Multi tasking is the enemy of productivity. Trust me. I test this theory out often enough to know.

9. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

When I was going through a very difficult period, a friend said something surprising to me that I’d never even considered the consequences of before. She simply said ‘Direct your prayer. Know who you’re praying to’. Not all forces are forces of good. Make sure the ones you attach yourself to are, whether spiritually or in the material world.

10. What are you working on at the moment?

Well, I’m  completing my teaching certificate with a year long placement teaching ESOL to women in community settings. I’m also putting together my first official poetry pamphlet and a creativity/ how to book on the process. And just for fun, I’m knitting little bits for the craft stall at St Mary’s Christmas Fayre whilst watching (ahem) Pretty Little Liars.

FullSizeRender

What a confessional note to end on!

And now for my first five nominees:

  1. Tori’s Tales
  2. She Wanted Storms
  3. Peggy Jobbins, Thrift Mistress
  4. Dream and Just Believe
  5. Jae Rose

Enjoy your new reads 🙂

And the questions for my nominees:

  1. What is your first memory of writing?
  2. What is the one book you wish you’d written?
  3. Is there a line of poetry that blows you away e v e r y time you read it?
  4. Do you pray?
  5. Tell me about five scents that are heavenly.
  6. What’s the strangest thing that’s ever happened to you – in a library?
  7. What do you think is most surprising about your reading habits?
  8. Winter boots or summer sandals? Discuss.
  9. How are you planning to spend your winter evenings?
  10. Which song best reflects how the year is turning out for you so far?

Part two coming up next week…

8 thoughts on “One to One #2: Liebster Blog Awards ~ Part One

  1. Truly enjoyed reading this post! The book you’re reading about Christian Meditation sounds quite interesting. I think I will have to add it to my ‘To Read’ list.

    Like

    • Ahh, thanks Cristen! The book is a good, slow, contemplative read. I think it’s out of print now but I easily picked up a second hand copy on Amazon. These ‘to read’ lists get implausibly long, don’t they?!!

      Like

Every heart sings a song, incomplete, until another heart whispers back...

