From the Diary #11: Insomnia Promise

Today I will be kind to myself.

The sky is pigeon grey with rain clouds and the biggest trees are bending with the wind’s heavy load.

Today I will be kind to myself.

Before dawn my mind awakens, teeming with all the tasks that I must complete for my first year of teaching training. There is no more sleep left for me.

Today I will be kind to myself.

Slowly I rise and shower, the unslept hours still heavy in my every movement.  The house is filled with crumbs and paw prints.

Today I will be kind to myself.

The washing machine is loaded, the surfaces are wiped, the vacuum is switched on with an enviable burst of energy.

Today I will be kind to myself.

I may not move more than a footstep today but I will not fall backwards.  I will think loving thoughts about my lack of energy, I will complete small tasks until my eyes want to close to sleep again.

Today I will be kind to myself.

14 thoughts on “From the Diary #11: Insomnia Promise

  1. So gentle and wise. And such strong images. ‘Unslept hours still heavy in every movement’, that’s a familiar feeling indeed and what a line. I love the rhythm, the imagery, the realness. Little footsteps add up : ) Beautiful reminder.

    Like

  2. I love this so much, Claire. I’ve struggled with insomnia for over half my life and it was definitely up again last night. Thank you for this- it was exactly what I needed to read this morning. Please do be kind to yourself today and I will think of you and do the same for me. We will not fall backward. xoxo

    Like

  3. Thank you for this wonderful reminder, Claire. So simple, so very important and so easy to forget…. Today I will be kind to myself (and I’ll try for tomorrow too!).

    Like

    • Thanks, Sherry. Sometimes having a slow spirit jars with the demands of a fast paced world, doesn’t it? On those days we needs the strength and conviction to accept what we need x

      Like

Every heart sings a song, incomplete, until another heart whispers back...

